top of page
Scholarships & Awards

Evelyn Erving Dance Scholarship


The Evelyn Erving Scholarship was founded in 1999 in memory of Evelyn Erving, mother of Maggie Dennis, Artistic Director of The Dance Extension. Mrs. Erving was a professional dancer and teacher who established the Evelyn Erving School of Dance in northern New York where she taught for 36 years. She resided in Waterforduntil her death in December of 1998.


The scholarship is awarded biennially to a student who shows dedication to the art of dance and interest in a career in education or working with children.  The recipient receives a full tuition scholarship to The Dance Extension for the academic year.



2018: Annaleah Ramos

2016: Halie Yon

2014: Kiana Foster-Mauro

2012: Rachel Moniz

2010: Kai Chattar-Sinclair
2009: Elizabeth Tompkins
2007: Cyndell Pickett
2005: Rebekah Patton
2003: Erica Whitchurch
2001: Lauren Rader
2000: Dana Cohen
1999: Rachel Wood

2018 Recipient: Annaleah Ramos

Miss Lila Award

This scholarship was established in 2000 in honor of the retirement of Lila Nicholson, a dance educator who taught at The Dance Extension for almost 20 years. It is awarded biennially to a young student who displays outstanding enthusiasm and dedication to dance. The recipient receives a tuition scholarship for one class at The Dance Extension for the academic year. Recipients are announced during the The Dance Extension’s biennial performance.



2018: Nicole Doty

2016: Amélie Kydd 
2014: Sydney Swann

2012: Jayla T
2010: Prenya Ludd
2008: Zakkiyya Griffin
2006: Crystal Diaz
2004: Bianca Alexis
2002: Missette Richardson
2000: Belinda Liu

CDE Alumni Scholarship
in memory of "Miss Helen" Stack

The Community Dance Ensemble Alumni Scholarship was founded in 2013 in memory of Helen Stack, long time Dance Extension teacher and former Company member. Recipeients are selected by a committee of alumni of the CDE/Dance Ensemble/The Company The first scholarships were awarded in June of 2014.


For more information or to make a donation, visit the alumni page of the CDE's website

Nicole Doty

2018 Recipient


Dancer of the Year Awards

Recipients are selected annually by the Dance Extension faculty for their outstanding dedication to the art of dance. The Dancer of the Year receives a full scholarship to a dance convention.  The Adult Dancer of the Year receives a gift certificate to Discount Dance Supply.




Lana Green

2024 Recipient

Dancer of the Year Recipients


2024: Lana Green
2023: Hayley Peckham

2022: Hadley Huebner
2021: Bailey Barousse

2020: Megan Banach

2018: Adrienne Saums

2017: Kelly Banach
2016: Kiana Foster-Mauro

2015: Sarah Ferraro
2014: Sarah Hysong 

2013: Stacia Tibbetts 

2012: Leah Minton

2011: Janelle Timmons

2010: Emily Minton

2009: Melissa Buriak

2008: Amanda Mehlman

2007: Katie Wild

2006: Ashley Days

2005: Angela Gregor

2004: Krysti Todd

2003: Samantha Civco

2002: Laurie Kammer

2001: Kate Socha

2000: Allison Bailey

1999: Katie Moorehead

Adult Dancer of the Year Recipients

2010: Annette Sakidovitch

2011: Cecilia Lins-Morstadt

2010: Liz Rovetti

2009: Sue Smith

2008: Suzanne Lane

2007: Kim Prescott

2006: Lori Brennan

2005: Rodney Seaforth

2004: Sandy Welles

2003: Bonnie Days

2002: Liz Palazzo

2001: Jean Church

2000: Lauren Rader

Photo for Website & Releases.png

Student of the Month

Recipients are selected monthly by the Dance Extension faculty for their outstanding enthusiasm for the art of dance and their refection of TDE's Core Values.  

bottom of page